top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefitinthirtyaah

Reality Check

As the college school year begins to end, I have had the chance to catch up with some friends returning from their first and second years at school. There are both pros and cons to all the freedom that comes with being a college student. Many colleges and universities have followed the "fit" trend and have updated their facilities, added healthier food options, and so much more to keep their students physically fit. With that being said, it is still hard to stay motivated. At times "you lose sign of your goals. As a high school athlete, it was easy to work towards something because you had your team and an end goal in mind. Once you are on your own and working for yourself it is easy to forget what your ultimate goal is. Although, once finding a specific goal for myself, I found it much easier to stay motivated. I am not sure if it is that I felt confident in balancing my academics, or the phenomenal facilities, but if I have a goal I have motivation... no goal no motivation". (SR)


Overall, I was able to uncover some more of a real-feel aspect to what staying fit in college is all about. I was amazed by how many options friends had on campus for workout activities. Almost all schools have options to take a workout class instead of just open facilities. Classes like spin, zumba, HIIT, and boxing, just to name a few were among the many options multiple schools offered. Additionally, within almost all of these fitness facilities, there were healthy food options as a post-workout meal. Between smoothies, salads, protein shakes, etc, it seems students can never go hungry! My big take away from talking to college friends is that setting small goals are very important. It makes it much easier to stay on track for anything we set to do throughout our college years.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pop it, lock it, Polka-dot it

What could be better than dancing, great music, friends, annnnd working out?!! Nothing!! Every Thursday Jbarre has their "Hip-Hop" Barre class. This is my absolute favorite. The class flies bye every

bottom of page